West Jefferson holds Athletic Hall of Fame induction

Photos courtesy of Greg Pfeil

West Jefferson High School’s 2008 Athletic Hall of Fame inductees are: (from left) Jill Yoder, class of 1984; Gene Keel, coach; Jim Scurlock, class of 1965; and Kevin Mannon, class of 1994. They received plaques prior to West Jefferson’s Aug. 22 football game against Mechanicsburg.

Gene Keel (left), former head coach of the West Jefferson football team and current assistant coach, accepts his Hall of Fame Award from former quarterback Mike Healy during pre-game festivities.
West Jefferson quarterback D.J. Mendenhall (No. 8) runs around the end to pick up yardage during the second quarter. Mendenhall scored a touchdown on a 12-yard run  in the third quarter to tie the score at 14. The Riders lost 20-14 in overtime.
West Jefferson tailback Corey Koher (No. 3) hangs onto the ball as he tries to run away from Mechanicsburg defensive cornerback Andy Huffman in the third quarter.
DJ Mendenhall looks downfield in an attempt to find an open receiver in the third quarter.
Captain Shane Cahill can’t believe the game is over.
Previous articleWhats happening on the Westside
Next articleAround Canal Winchester and Lithopolis


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.