Two named to county zoning commission


(Posted June 4, 2015)

By Kristy Zurbrick, Madison Editor

The Madison County commissioners approved two appointments to the Madison County Zoning Commission on June 1.

Jeff Matthewson of Paint Township and Scott Sims of Union Township were tapped to fill vacancies on the five-member board. The other members are Ben Bergman of Pleasant Township, Bobby Higgins of Oak Run Township, and Joe Johnson of Range Township. Terms are five years.

The commission handles rezoning requests in the unincorporated areas of the county. Requests first go to a regional planning commission, which makes a recommendation to the county zoning commission. The county zoning commission then makes a recommendation to the county commissioners, who then approve or disapprove the request.

The Madison County Zoning Commission represents 13 of the county’s 14 townships. Somerford Township handles its own zoning and, therefore, has its own zoning board.

To be eligible to be a member of the county zoning commission, a person must live within one of the unincorporated areas of the county.

The commission meets as needed on the third Tuesday of each month at the Madison County Engineer’s Office, 825 U.S. Route 42 NE, London. The summer meeting time is 8 p.m.; the winter meeting time is 7 p.m.

For more information about the Madison County Zoning Commission, call the Madison County Building and Zoning Office at (740) 852-2833. David Hughes is the director.

Previous articleTaking action against poverty
Next articleHow many dogs are too many in West Jeff?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.