Tax levies and candidates on Nov. 4 ballot

(Posted Sept. 18, 2014)

By Kristy Zurbrick, Madison Editor

The following tax levy issues will appear on the Nov. 4 general election ballot in Madison County.

  • Madison County 9-1-1—Renewal of a 0.8-mill, five-year levy for maintenance and operation of the 9-1-1 system
  • London City Schools—Renewal of a 1 percent income tax for five years for current operating expenses
  • Hurt-Battelle Memorial Library in West Jefferson—Renewal of a 1.5-mill, five-year levy for current expenses
  • Mount Sterling Public Library—Additional 0.4-mill, five-year levy for current expenses
  • Village of Midway—Additional 3-mill, five-year levy for current expenses
  • Village of South Solon—Renewal of a 2-mill, five-year levy for current expenses
  • Pleasant Valley Joint Fire District—Replacement of a 10-mill, five-year levy for fire and emergency medical services
  • Pleasant-Darby Union Cemetery—Additional 1-mill, five-year levy for cemetery maintenance and operation
  • Fairfield Township—Renewal of a 4.5-mill, five-year levy for fire protection and emergency services
  • Paint Township—Replacement of a 1.1-mill, five-year levy for cemetery maintenance and operation


Four county-level seats are up for election, only one of which is contested. Republican David Dhume and Democrat Denise Worthington are vying for one open seat for county commissioner.

Running unopposed are Eamon P. Costello for county common pleas court (general/domestic division), Christopher J. Brown for county common pleas court (probate/juvenile division), and Jennifer S. Hunter for county auditor.

Voter Registration Deadline

The deadline to register to vote in the Nov. 4 general election is 9 p.m. Oct. 6. The Madison County Board of Election office will be open from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Oct. 6. Voter registrations submitted by mail must be postmarked by Oct. 6.

To be eligible to vote, a person must be:

  • a native or naturalized citizen of the United States;
  • a resident of Ohio 30 days immediately prior to the date of the election;
  • a resident of Madison County, Ohio;
  • At least 18 years old.

Registration forms are available at all public libraries in Madison County and through the state of Ohio, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Madison County Treasurer’s office, and all other human service agencies.

Voters also may register in person at the Board of Election’s office, 1423 State Route 38 SE, London, or call (740) 852-9424 to request a registration form be mailed. Normal Board of Election office hours are 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Individuals previously registered in Madison County do not need to re-register unless their address or name has changed. Any changes to voter’s registration must be made by the Oct. 6 deadline and may be submitted by completing a voter registration form.

Previous articleMadison-Plains: Setting the bar for extracurricular eligibility
Next articleSharing the road with farm equipment


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.