South Charleston: High school FCCLA chapter garners state awards

Southeastern’s FCCLA chapter took home a gold as an outstanding chapter at the state FCCLA leadership conference.

Thirty-eight Southeastern High School FCCLA members participated in the Ohio FCCLA State Leadership Conference in Columbus on April 17-18.


The Southeastern Chapter was awarded Gold Outstanding Chapter, based on the interview and portfolio of chapter service and leadership activities compiled by  Beth Judy, Danielle Hartman, Rhianna Wyss, Haley Banion and Ashley Coleman.  

An honorable mention certificate for the FCCLA RESPECT State Project was awarded to the chapter for the “I-Care Kits” ser-vice project. Megan Bowen and Shelby Hocter were instrumental in carrying out the project and completing the award forms.

Southeastern High School’s State FCCLA Degree recipients are (from left) Beth Judy, Lindsey Schutte and Danielle Hartman.

State Degrees

Beth Judy, Lindsey Schutte and Danielle Hartman were awarded the Ohio FCCLA (Family, Career and Community Leaders of America) State Degree at the conference.    

The Southeastern High School students completed a portfolio of 14 leadership activities for individual growth, family, school, community and FCCLA participation above the local level. Only 19 high school students in Ohio earned this award in 2008.

Judy is the daughter of Mike and Barb Judy of South Charleston. She serves as vice president of programs for the Southeastern FCCLA Chapter and was elected as a 2008 Ohio FCCLA state officer. Judy also is a member of Southeastern’s tennis team and has participated in musicals. Outside of school, she is active in her church and 4-H.

Schutte is the daughter of George R. Schutte and the late Cheryl A. Schutte of South Charleston. She serves as the Southeastern FCCLA vice president of membership. She portrayed Muzzie in the 2008 production of “Thoroughly Modern Millie” and is involved with cross country and 4-H.

Hartman is the daughter of Hugh and Dana Alderson of South Charleston. She serves as vice president of finance for Southeastern FCCLA. Her school activities include cross country and softball.  She is active in her church and works part-time as a waitress at Young’s Jersey Dairy.

Southeastern’s Power of One team were recognized for the fourth consecutive year for their achievement portfolios, setting a school record.

Power of One

Twenty-eight Southeastern FCCLA members have been recognized for Power of One Goal Achievement Portfolios.     

Members planned for five goals in the areas of personal development, family relationships, career planning, leadership and public relations for FCCLA. The students documented their work to achieve the goals and collected letters of recommendations for the portfolios. They were interviewed at Ohio Hi Point CTC in March and the awards were presented at the 2008 State FCCLA Leadership Conference in Columbus on April 17.  

Nicole Cain, Nick Cheney, Chelsea Horton and Chelsea Sagraves earned this award for the fourth year, establishing a new school record. Other recipients included: Crystal Coleman, three years; Jennifer Bryant, Victoria Carr, Cara Gartin, Lexi Harbour, Alex Knisley, Jessie Shaffer and Rhianna Wyss, two years; Megan Bowen, Katie Clark, Ashley Coleman, Betsy DeWine, Trent Davis, Jared Edwards, Elizabeth Finchum, Cloie Green, Morgan Hazlett, A.J. Huggins, Shelby Hocter, Madison Johnston, Emily Riegel, Ashley Stewart, Aimee Walker and Alex Xayathone, first-year awards.

Betsy DeWine and Madison Johnston pose by their chapter service display.

Star Events

Thirty Southeastern FCCLA members competed at the State FCCLA STAR Events on April 17. The students earned the top rating in Region 6 on March 1 in Bellefontaine, which made them eligible to compete at the state level.


FCCLA STAR Events include demonstrations, displays, portfolios and speeches related to FCCLA service and leadership projects completed during the school year. There are individual and team events.

State gold medals were awarded to: Nick Cheney for job interview;  Betsy DeWine and Madison Johnston for chapter service display; and Jennifer Bryant, Lexi Harbour, Zach Hatfield, Victoria Carr, Morgan Hazlett, Alexis Knisley and Cara Gartin for parliamentary procedure.

Silver Medals were awarded to: Crystal Coleman and Aimee Walker for interior design; Megan Bowen and Brooke Crum for national programs in action; Elizabeth Finchum, Sammie Nichols, Cloie Green, Emilee Riegel, Shelby Hocter and Alex Xayathone for parliamentary procedure; and Clay Dillon, Chelsea Sagraves, Lindsey Schutte, Andrew Kemplin, Jackie Severt, Maria Severt, Kari Nickell and Lisa Smith for parliamentary procedure.

A bronze medal was earned by Jared Edwards and Andy Nickell for applied technology.

Previous articleWhats happening on the Westside
Next articleBexley sidewalk assessments recommended by service committee


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.