Results of Ag Society election

(Posted July 21, 2020)

Kristy Zurbrick, Madison Editor

Fifteen candidates vied for five seats up for election on the Madison County Agricultural Society’s board of directors.

The winners are: Joe Henry (70 votes), Quinton Keeran (65), Kelly Sifrit (58), Tina Seaburn (56), and Paul J. Gross (53).

A total of 409 ballots were cast on July 18, the last day of the 2020 Madison County Fair. The election took place in-person in the Coughlin Community Center at the fairgrounds. Anyone who held a current Ag Society membership was eligible to vote. The Madison County Board of Elections oversaw the process.

Henry and Keeran were reelected. Seaburn, Sifrit, and Gross are new to the board. Darrell Champer, current board president, and Duane Powell chose not to run for reelection.  Bryan Stonerock was hoping for another term but fell short, coming in sixth with 19 votes.

Others on the ballot included: Savannah Brock (16 votes), Butch Scott (13), Amanda Baker (11), Billy Fuller (11), Joel Buckland (10), Charles Aldredge (9), Kevin Stockham (8), Kresta Fansler (5) and Deetra Huntington (5).

Each board seat comes with a three-year term. Five of the 15 seats are up for election each year. Newly elected or reelected members are sworn in at the board’s November meeting. New officers are selected at that time, as well.

Others currently serving on the board are Brock Ballah, Dave Monnin, Nathan Morrison, George Roby and Kyle Seaburn, whose terms expire in 2021, and Jason Baker, James Cress, Judy Gallimore, Les Geyman and Amy Nichols, whose terms expire in 2022. Current officers are: Champer, president; Monnin, vice president; Seaburn, treasurer; and Gallimore, secretary.

The board typically meets at 7:30 p.m. the first Wednesday of each month at the fairgrounds, 205 Elm St., London. The board is responsible for operating the annual county fair, managing and maintaining  the fairgrounds, and promoting agriculture, industry, schools and other interests.

For more information, call the fairgrounds office at (740) 852-1654 or send email to

Previous articleGroveport still considering trash contract options
Next articlePlain City Farmers Market opens in new spot on July 30


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.