London primary election results

(Posted May 8, 2019)

By Kristy Zurbrick, Madison Editor

The results are in. Henry Comer won the Republican bid for president of London city council, and Republicans Carla S. Blazier, Joshua E. Peters and John J. Stahl are moving on in the race for at-large city council seats.

Voter turnout for the May 7 primary election was low. Of London’s 5,982 registered Republican voters, 390 (6.52 percent) cast ballots.

Comer, who currently serves as an at-large member of city council, beat out incumbent Joe Russell by a margin of two-to-one. Comer moves on to the general election in November where he will be unopposed.

Four candidates vied for the chance to move on in the race for city council’s three at-large seats. The top three vote-getters won advancement to the November election. Peters, the incumbent, garnered the most votes, followed closely by newcomer Blazier, and then Stahl, who has previously served on council. The fourth challenger, Michael W. Norman, did not secure enough votes to advance. Joining the other three on the ballot in the fall is incumbent Brenda Russell, who filed as an Independent candidate for the at-large race.

Also filing as an Independent for the fall election was Thomas Edward Boyd, who plans to challenge incumbent Patrick Closser for the London mayor’s position. Boyd submitted his petitions to the BOE on May 3. The deadline to submit petitions for candidacy as an Independent was May 6. The BOE must verify Independent candidate petitions by July 15. The board’s next meeting is set for 9 a.m. July 9.

The following is the full list of unofficial results of the May 7 primary election, as released by the BOE on Election Night. The board will certify the vote tallies sometime between May 18 and May 28. There were no tax issues or questions on the primary ballot.


Mayor of London

Patrick J. Closser               279 (100%)

President of Council – London

Henry Comer                     251 (66.76%)

Joe Russell                        125 (33.24%)

Auditor of London

Lora A. Long                      273 (100%)

Director of Law – London

Jennifer J. Hitt                   277 (100%)

Council At-Large – London

Carla S. Blazier                  238 (28.07%)

Michael W. Norman            144 (16.98%)

Joshua E. Peters                 254 (29.95%)

John J. Stahl                      212 (25%)

Council First Ward – London

Andrew A. Hitt                    87 (100%)

Council Second Ward – London

Richard M. Hays                  71 (100%)

Council Third Ward – London

David Anthony Smith          34 (100%)

Council Fourth Ward – London

Rex Castle                         79 (100%)

For more information about the election, go to and click on “Election Information.”

Previous articleMay 10-11: Poppy Days in London
Next articleGroveport Madison Schools’ levy/bond issue fails


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.