Peace Officers’ Memorial honors those who died in the line of duty

Photos courtesy of the Ohio Attorney General’s Office

(Posted May 7, 2021)

Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost, members of the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission, and law enforcement officers from throughout the state gathered on May 6 for the 33rd Annual Ohio Peace Officers’ Memorial Ceremony to honor the 809 Ohio officers who have died in the line of duty since 1823. The ceremony took place on the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy grounds in London.

“The sacrifice these brave men and women made to protect us all from harm can never be fully repaid, so it is our duty to honor them and never forget them,” Yost said. “They took an oath and followed it until the end, and they will forever be remembered as heroes.”

Honored at the ceremony were those who died in 2019 and 2020:

  • William L. Brewer Jr., Clermont County Sheriff’s Office;
  • Jorge R. Del Rio, Dayton Police Department;
  • Officer Anthony Dia, Toledo Police Department;
  • Officer Kaia LaFay Grant, Springdale Police Department;
  • Adam McMillan, Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office;
  • James M. Skernivitz, Cleveland Police Department; and
  • Officer Dale J. Woods, Colerain Township Police Department.

Three historical inductions also took place during this year’s event:

  • Patrolman Charles William Giles, Ironton Police Department, end of watch–Nov. 26, 1988;
  • Police Officer Claude McCormick, Oakwood Public Safety Department, end of watch–Aug. 29, 1933; and
  • Special Policeman William T. Hyatt, Wellsville Police Department, end of watch–Feb. 25, 1923.
Previous articleAsk a Master Gardener: The cicadas are coming!
Next articleGroveport to celebrate Fourth of July with parade and fireworks


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.