Madison-Plains golfer named OHC Player of the Year

Aydn Gammell, a senior on the Madison-Plains boys’ golf team, was named Ohio Heritage Conference Player of the Year.

(Posted Oct. 23, 2020)

Aydn Gammell, a senior on the Madison-Plains High School boys’ golf team, was named Player of the Year in the Ohio Heritage Conference (OHC).
Gammell was recognized for this and other achievements at the Madison-Plains golf program awards ceremony on Oct. 19.

In addition to being named the conference’s top player, Gammell earned first-team all-conference status with his score of 81 at the OHC tournament. He also was named first-team all-Madison County and was a district qualifier in the Ohio High School Athletic Association post-season tournament.

Senior Gabe Garrison, a four-year varsity letter winner, was named second-team OHC with a 97 score at the OHC tournament.

Three athletes earn their first varsity letters in golf–junior Evan Morehart, sophomore Cole Music and sophomore Kyler Kimble.

Kimble earned OHC honorable mention status with a 101 score at the OHC tournament. Two athletes earned their second-year varsity letters, junior Pegasio Xenikis and senior Jordan Hildebrand. Hildebrand earned OHC honorable mention honors with a 104 score at the OHC tournament.

The boys’ team ended the season with 11 wins and finished second in the South division of the Ohio Heritage Conference. Joanie Boyle serves as head coach of the boys’ team.

The girls’ team, coached by Jim Miller, ended the season with nine wins and finished seventh out of eight teams at the OHC tournament.

Senior Bryanna Dodds (August OHC Player of the Month), a four-year letter winner, earned OHC honorable mention status with her 117 score at the OHC tournament. She shared the team’s most valuable player honors with fellow senior Rachel Weis, a four-year letter winner who earned first-team OHC status after her 95 score in the OHC tournament.

Miller told the team’s underclassmen, “You have big shoes to fill,” referring to Dodds and Weis.

Sophomores Caralyn Fisher and Becca Plympton earned their second varsity letters. Plympton walked away with an award for most improved player.

Previous articleRoughriders advance to next playoff round
Next articleStaying safe and healthy this Halloween


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.