Madison County’s primary election results


(Posted March 21, 2016)

The following are unofficial results of the March 15 primary election in Madison County, as released by the Madison County Board of Elections. The board will certify the results on April 5. Republican candidates are noted with (R); Democratic candidates are noted with (D).

Of Madison County’s 23,342 registered voters, 10,402 cast ballots (44.56 percent).



(term commencing Jan. 2, 2017)

• Mark A. Forrest (R)     5,295 (100%)

• Ronald H. Roach (D)    1,461 (100%)



(term commencing Jan. 3, 2017)

Paul J. Gross (R)               2,841 (42.9%)

• David B. Hunter (R)       3,782 (57.1%)


Court of Common Pleas Judge

• Eamon P. Costello (R)    5,406 (100%)


Common Pleas Clerk of Courts

• Renae E. Zabloudil (R)   5,201 (100%)



• James W. Kaehr (R)      5,378 (100%)



• Bryan D. Dhume (R)     5,143 (100%)


Prosecuting Attorney

• Stephen J. Pronai (R)   5,451 (100%)



• Charles E. Reed (R)    5,454 (100%)



• James P. Sabin (R)    5,675 (100%)



• Donna L. Landis (R)   5,365 (100%)



Jefferson Township A

(Local question: Shall the sale of beer, wine and mixed beverages be permitted from 10 a.m. to midnight Sundays at mini-mart and gas station at 9580 W. Broad St., Galloway)

• Yes         295 (61.84%)

No            182 (38.16%)

Village of Plain City

(0.5 percent income tax increase for capital improvements and maintenance, repair, and replacement of infrastructure; permanent levy commencing July 1, 2016)

• For the levy                598 (51.7%)

Against the levy            558 (48.3%)

(Note: These tallies reflect unofficial totals from Madison and Union counties.)


Jonathan Alder Local Schools

(0.75 percent income tax renewal for 10 years for current expenses)

• For the levy                2,259 (63.8%)

Against the levy            1,280 (36.2%)

(Note: These tallies reflect unofficial totals from Madison, Union and Franklin counties.)


State senate and representative races

In Ohio’s 10th Senate District race, Robert D. Hackett of London won the Republican nomination, and Matthew Kirk of Yellow Springs won the Democratic nomination.

In Ohio’s 74th House of Representatives District race, Bill Dean of Xenia won the Republican nomination, and Barbara Niemeyer of London won the Democratic nomination.

Independents file for two county races

Two individuals filed petitions with the Madison County Board of Elections to run as independent candidates in the Nov. 8 election. The filing deadline was March 14.

Andra Troyer of London filed to run for the county commissioner term that starts Jan. 3, 2017. If her petition is certified, she will face David Hunter, who won the Republican nomination in the March 15 primary election.

Steven Lamphear of Plain City filed to run for county engineer. If his petition is certified, he will face Bryan Dhume, who won the Republican nomination in the primary election. Dhume was appointed to the engineer’s seat in January following the death of former engineer David Brand.

The Board of Elections will certify the independent candidate petitions on May 27.

Previous articleApril 9: Dance troupe returns for Mt. Sterling event
Next articleRoad safety addressed on Route 42 near schools


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.