LHS sports management class hosts first RESPY Athletic Awards

Among the winners of the first RESPY awards at London High School are: (from left) Laila McQuirt, Riley Colestock, Ashley Sims, Addison Sims, Daniel Johnson, Titus Smith, Zach Jones, Cameron Carn, Justin Jackman, Luke Marriott, Griffin Langhurst, David Castillo, Alex Homan, and Jude Salyer.

(Posted May 17, 2024)

London High School’s sports management class hosted the inaugural RESPY Athletic Award Show on May 10 in the Ray Chadwell Gymnasium.

The sports management class is an internship program designed for students to examine the operations and business aspects of the sports industry. This month, the group applied that knowledge in creating the RESPYS, an award ceremony that celebrates the achievements and accomplishments of the high school’s top student-athletes and sports teams.

The ceremony brings together coaches, teammates, and supporters to honor and applaud individuals who have shown exceptional performance and dedication throughout the year.
The sports management class reached out to local companies and organizations to help sponsor the event. Top tier sponsors had an award named after them.

The high school coaches nominated student-athletes for 21 different award categories. Once nominations were complete, all of the student-athletes participated by voting for their peers. The top three student-athletes receiving votes were named as finalists for the award show.

The winners were:
• Breakthrough Athlete–Addison Lambert;
• Best Comeback Athlete–Justin Jackman;
• Courage Award–Sean Sabulsky;
• Perseverance Award–Jude Salyer;
• Service Award–Laila McQuirt;
• Leadership Award–Alex Homan;
• Scholar Athlete Award–Luke Marriott;
• Play of the Year Award—Zach Jones
• #1 Red Raider Fan–Titus Smith;
• Ninth Grade Male Athlete–Griffin Langhurt;
• 10th Grade Male Athlete–Cameron Carn;
• 11th Grade Male Athlete–David Castillo;
• 12th Grade Male Athlete–Zach Jones;
• 9th Grade Female Athlete–Addison Lambert;
• 10th Grade Female Athlete–Addison Sims;
• 11th Grade Female Athlete–Ashley Sims;
• 12th Grade Female Athlete–Riley Colestock;
• Friend of Athletics–Daniel Johnson;
• Boys Team of the Year–Varsity Football;
• Girls Team of the Year–Varsity Volleyball; and
• Breakthrough Team–Varsity Girls Bowling.

This year’s sponsors were: Dwyer’s Hardware, CK Signs, Creative Flooring, Red Hot Propane, Marathon, Ronetti’s, Patterson Construction, Buckeye Ford, Kronk & Scaggs Insurance, Direct Mechanical, Buckeye Realty, and Eberle-Fisher Funeral.

Previous articleMt. Sterling council approves beer garden for Summer Jam
Next articleLondon community to honor memory of brave teen


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.