Large field of candidates for races on fall ballot

(Posted Aug. 18, 2021)

By Kristy Zurbrick, Madison Editor

On Aug. 16, the Madison County Board of Elections certified the list of candidates who are vying for various elected offices in the Nov. 2 general election.

The candidates are as follows (the number of seats up for election is listed for each race):

Council president (one seat)–Henry Comer
Auditor (one seat)–Kenna Combs
Treasurer (one seat)–Sue Mosier
Council at-large (three seats)–Gregory S. Eades, Joshua E. Peters, Brenda S. Russell, and John J. Stahl
Council Ward 1 (one seat)–Andrew A. Hitt
Council Ward 2 (one seat)–Richard M. Hays
Council Ward 3 (one seat)–David Anthony Smith
Council Ward 4 (one seat)–Bryan Robinson

Council (four seats)–Peg E. Brown

Mount Sterling
Council (four seats)–Shawnee Corbin, Andrew Drake, Craig Hix, Robert Longcoy, Rebecca Martin, and William D. Tilley

Plain City
Mayor (one seat)–Jody Carney
Council (one seat, two-year term)–Sherry Heineman, Rochelle L. Pellegrene, and James R. Sintz
Council (three seats, four-year terms)–James Eudaily, Kerri L. Ferguson, Lauren DeCamp Giaimo, Tyler F. Harriman, and Michael S. Terry

South Solon
Council (four seats)–No candidates

West Jefferson
Council Ward 1 (one seat)–Samantha Cahill and Jim King
Council Ward 2 (one seat)–Linda S. Hall
Council Ward 3 (one seat)–Jennifer Warner
Council Ward 4 (one seat)–Howard S. Wade Jr.

School Boards
Jefferson Local (two seats)–Tabatha Bowman, Whitney Duemmel, Erica Fortune, and Addie Newman
Jonathan Alder Local (two seats)–Mary Jo Boyd, Erica Detweiler, Shannon R. Foust, and Sonia T. Walker
London City (three seats)–Ashli Carter, Donovan Cooper, Marty Ditello, Marshall Geib, Joseph Harris, Marvin J. Homan, Lisa Reay, and Juliet Wendler
Madison-Plains Local (three seats)–Kelly cooley, Bryan Stonerock, and Anthoula A. Xenikis

Township Trustees (two seats for each township)
Canaan–Mark Ishmael and Don Whitmer
Darby–Klaas R. Friesen and Myron M. Mast
Deercreek–Robert J. Turvy Jr.
Fairfield–Steve R. Denes and Jeffrey D. Marshall
Jefferson–Leon E. Creamer, Jonathan E. Forrest, and Steven L. Rohner
Monroe–Philip A. Adelsberger, Lloyd Anthony Frey, and Jeremy S. Straley
Oak Run–Charles Farmer and Kelley Manns
Paint–Philip C. Eades and Jeffrey Kimbler
Pike–No candidates
Pleasant–Darrell E. Champer, Brian Wilson Hampton, Mark A. Harden, and Timothy Phillips
Range–Dennis K. Marshall
Somerford–Randall Boyce, Billy J. Laney, Keith D. O’Connor, and Ernest S. Sparks
Stokes–Linton Kelley and Jim Noble
Union–Gary Bogenrife and Michael J. Sullivan

Township Fiscal Officers
Paint (one seat to fill unexpired term)–Valerie Eades
Pleasant (one seat to fill unexpired term)–Katheryn I. Endres

Candidate petitions denied
Eight individuals who filed petitions for candidacy were denied certification and, therefore, are not eligible to run in the Nov. 2 election. Those individuals and the seats for which they had hoped to run are:

• Roger Wilson, Deercreek Township trustee;
• Michael Boerger, Pike Township trustee;
• Ronald Cress, Range Township trustee;
• Jerry Fitzpatrick, Jefferson Local school board;
• Erika Watkinson, London City school board;
• Janet Ervin, Midway council;
• Joe Dave Hamm, Midway council; and
• Catherine Hostetler, Plain City council.

The petitions were denied for various reasons, said Abby Metheney, Board of Elections director, including: late submission, too few valid signatures, and incorrect or incomplete information on portions of the petition.

Write-in candidate deadline
The deadline to file for candidacy as a write-in for any of the races on the Nov. 2 ballot is 4 p.m. on Aug. 23. The fee to file as a write-in is $10. Individuals whose petitions were denied (see above) are not eligible to run as write-in candidates in this election.

Voter information
The deadline for voter registration for the Nov. 2 general election is Oct. 4. The deadline to submit an application for an absentee ballot to be mailed is Oct. 30.

For more information, visit or contact the Board of Elections at (740) 852-9424 or The office is located at 1423 State Rte. 38 SE, London. Hours are 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Previous articleSafety Expo will be entirely outdoors
Next articleSWCS to use relief funds for learning loss initiatives and construction


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.