Democratic Party awards scholarships

Cheryl Brockman (left), a member of the Madison County Democratic Party, presents a scholarship award to Jackson McCoy.

(Posted June 12, 2023)

The Madison County Democratic Party has announced the winners of the 2023 Howard Foust Citizenship Awards. These awards are annually granted to a graduating senior from each of the public school districts in Madison County.

This year’s winners are:

  • Jackson McCoy graduated from Jonathan Alder High School where he was editor of the Pioneer Press, student director of the marching band, and president of the senior class. He will attend Ohio University to study journalism. He was a volunteer on Anne Gorman’s political campaign and has attended rallies in support of Black Lives Matter and women’s rights.
  • Rylee Hart received a scholarship award from the Madison County Democratic Party.

    Rylee Hart graduated from West Jefferson High School where she was active in volleyball, Pheasants Forever, and the Renaissance Club. She will attend Tolles Career and Technical School and Columbus State Community College to study firefighting and paramedics. Outside of school, Rylee worked with Kayle Mast Photography on a Letters to Santa campaign and she volunteers at Sufficient Grace.

  • Amanda Carpenter graduated from London High School where she was a cheerleader. She enjoy spending time as a gymnastics coach. She plans to attend the University of Dayton to study health science/pre-physical therapy.
  • Laura Sampson graduated from Madison-Plains High School where she was active in track, National Honor Society, FFA, French Club, and Key Club. She plans to attend the University of Toledo to study political science and psychology. She is passionate about LGBTQ rights and women’s rights.
Anne Gorman (right), chair of the Madison County Democratic Party, presents a scholarship award to Amanda Carpenter.

Awards are based on demonstrated acts of citizenship on the part of the applicants. The awards are non-partisan, but applicants 18 and older are expected to be registered to vote.

The awards consist of cash payments of $300 to each winner, intended for use in any post-high school educational activity they choose. College enrollment is not necessary. Applicants can demonstrate their qualities either by written or multi-media submissions.

Peggy Garrison (right), a member of the Madison County Democratic Party, presents a scholarship award to Laura Sampson.

The awards program is chaired by Cheryl Brockman of London with assistance from Scott Brockman, Mike Gorman, Paula Herald, Celeste Lipp, and Meg Woods. The program has been an ongoing activity of the Madison County Democratic Party for nearly 10 years. For info, visit

Previous articleMt. Sterling Summer Jam schedule of events
Next articleLondon Strawberry Festival seeks volunteers


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.