City has until Jan. 5 to fill vacant council seat

(Posted Dec. 20, 2022)

By Kristy Zurbrick, Madison Editor

London city council has until Jan. 5 to fill its Ward 3 council seat.

The vacancy occurred on Nov. 17 when former Ward 3 council member Anthony Smith announced his resignation. The person chosen to replace Smith will serve the remainder of the term which expires at the end of 2023.

Anyone interested in filling the seat must send a resume to Henry Comer, council president, at by Dec. 31, 2022. Candidates must live in Ward 3.

A panel of several current council members will review the resumes and interview candidates. From the pool of candidates, the panel will make a recommendation to the full council. A vote will be taken at council’s Jan. 5 meeting.

This procedure marks the second attempt to fill the vacancy. When such a vacancy occurs, the first attempt lies in the hands of the county central committee that share’s the resignee’s party–in this case, the Republican Central Committee (RCC). The appropriate committee members have the authority to appoint someone to the seat.

The London members of the RCC met on Dec. 6 to interview candidates. Ward 3 resident Michael Norman was the lone candidate. None of the London RCC members made a motion on Norman’s candidacy, so the seat remained unfilled.

According to the Ohio Revised Code, in this instance, the task of filling the seat then goes to the remaining council members. Originally, Jennifer Hitt, the city’s law director, said council had 30 days from the date of Smith’s resignation to fill the seat. That date would have been Dec. 17, however, after consulting with the Ohio Secretary of State’s office, she learned that council had 30 days from the time of the RCC’s meeting to fill the seat. That date is Jan. 5.

At council’s Dec. 15 meeting, Comer said a couple of residents had already expressed interest in the seat. He also confirmed that Michael Norman is still be eligible to be a candidate, if he so chooses.

Mayor Appointments
In other action at the Dec. 15 meeting, council approved the following appointments to city boards and commissions as recommended by Mayor Patrick Closser. All of the terms start on Jan. 1, 2023.

• Metropolitan Housing Authority–Angela Eden, reappointment, five-year term;

• Board of Zoning and Appeals–Zahid Siddiqi, reappointment, five-year term;

• Historic District Review Board–Robert Banhagel, new appointment, three-year term; Lisa Jackman and Dave Mars, reappointments, three-year terms;

• Parks and Recreation Commission–Sarah Mars, new appointment, two-year term;

• Historic Downtown Revitalization Committee–Jackie Call, Dave Mars, Wayne Roberts and Shannon Treynor, reappointments, two-year terms; and

• Income Tax Review Board–Tom Cox, reappointment, five-year term.

Previous articleObetz’s 2023 city budget approved; tentative contract with police
Next articleMt. Sterling area veteran now a Hall of Famer


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.