Carey and Russo win Aug. 3 primary election


Republican Mike Carey topped a field of 11 candidates in the Aug. 3 primary election to select candidates to run for Ohio’s U.S. 15th Congressional District seat.

Also, Democrat Allison Russo defeated Greg Betts and will run against Carey to see who will fill the seat that was left vacant when former U.S. Representative Steve Stivers, a Republican, resigned on May 16 to serve as president and CEO of the Ohio Chamber of Commerce. The primary winners in their respective parties will face off against each other in the general election on Nov. 2.

Carey defeated John Adams, Eric Clark, Thad Cooperrider, Ruth Edmonds, Ron Hood, Thomas Hwang, Stephanie Kunze, Jeff LaRe, Bob Peterson, and Omar Tarazi.

The Ohio 15th Congressional District includes Clinton, Fairfield, Hocking, Madison, Morgan, Perry, Pickaway, and Vinton counties as well as parts of Athens, Fayette, Franklin, and Ross counties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.