Candidates certified for Nov. 5 general election

(Posted Aug. 14, 2019)

On Aug. 13, the Madison County Board of Elections certified the list of candidates that will appear on the Nov. 5 election ballot. The deadline to register to vote in the election is Oct. 7. For registration information, call the Board of Elections at (740) 852-9424. The office is located at 1423 State Rte. 38 SE, London, just north of Fairhaven School. Hours are 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Monday-Friday.

London candidates

London mayor (one seat): Patrick J. Closser (R)

London city council president (one seat): Henry Nathan Comer (R)

London city council at-large (three seats): Carla Sue Blazier (R), Joshua E. Peters (R), Brenda S. Russell (I), John J. Stahl (R)

London city council Ward 1 (one seat): Andrew A. Hitt (R)

London city council Ward 2 (one seat): Richard M. Hays (R)

London city council Ward 3 (one seat): David Anthony Smith (R)

London city council Ward 4 (one seat): Rex A. Castle (R)

London city auditor (one seat): Lora A. Long (R)

London city law director (one seat): Jennifer J. Hitt (R)

London city treasurer unexpired term (one seat): Sue Mosier (R) [pending Ohio Secretary of State approval]

Mount Sterling candidates

Mount Sterling mayor (one seat): Marci L. Darlington, Rebecca Lenn Martin, William F. Martin

Mount Sterling village council (two seats): Lowell G. Anderson, Andrew P. Drake, Jordan M. Pettey, David L. Timmons

Midway candidates

Midway mayor (one seat): Renee Lynne Hall

Midway village council (two seats): Tina P. Kelley

Midway clerk-treasurer (one seat): [no one filed]

Plain City candidates

Plain City mayor (one seat): Michael Darrin Lane

Plain City village council (two seats): Daniel W. Fennell, Frank E. Reed, John M. Rucker

South Solon candidates

South Solon mayor (one seat): Joseph L. Haney

South Solon village council (two seats): Jeff L. Glispie

West Jefferson candidates

West Jefferson mayor (one seat): Ray Martin

West Jefferson village council at-large (three seats): Michael W. Conway, James D. Graham, Richard A. King, Jeffery B. Patterson

West Jefferson village council Ward 2 (unexpired term): Linda S. Hall

School board candidates

Jefferson Local board of education (three seats): David W. Harper, Margaret I. Hiss, Michael E. Quinn

Jonathan Alder Local board of education (three seats): Thomas D. Bichsel, Christine S. Blacka, Bill L. McCartney, Steven C. Votaw

Jonathan Alder Local board of education (unexpired term – one seat): Shannon R. Foust

London City board of education (two seats): Jonathan M. Stahl

Madison-Plains board of education (two seats): Robert Lee Butz, Mark W. Mason, Rebecca Ann Rheinscheld

Madison-Plains board of education (unexpired term): [no candidates certified]

Township candidates

Canaan Township fiscal officer (one seat): Kimberlie A. Schrock

Canaan Township trustee (one seat): Monroe E. Harbage, Jason B. Straley

Darby Township fiscal officer (one seat): Teresa L. Miller

Darby Township trustee (one seat): Roger D. Weeks

Deercreek Township fiscal officer (one seat): Erin K. Morris

Deercreek Township trustee (one seat): Levin Homer Hutson

Fairfield Township fiscal officer (one seat): Vickie S. Timmons

Fairfield Township trustee (one seat): Donald Wayne Francis

Jefferson Township fiscal officer (one seat): Amy Louise Forrest

Jefferson Township trustee (one seat): Jeffrey N. Pfeil

Monroe Township fiscal officer (one seat): Connie Troyer

Monroe Township trustee (one seat): Steve B. Snyder

Oak Run Township fiscal officer (one seat): Bridgett Nichole Shoemaker

Oak Run Township trustee (one seat): Wayne C. Holland

Paint Township fiscal officer (one seat): Cindy Lou Mace

Paint Township trustee (one seat): Bruce A. Davison

Pike Township fiscal officer (one seat): Kellie Ann Burns, Andrew J. Kolarsky

Pike Township trustee (one seat): Aaron L. Boerger

Pleasant Township fiscal officer (one seat): [no candidates certified]

Pleasant Township trustee (one seat): [no candidates certified]

Range Township fiscal officer (one seat): Debbie Cress

Range Township trustee (one seat): Mark Anthony

Somerford Township fiscal officer (one seat): Amanda Jo Knowles

Somerford Township trustee (one seat): Jim Moran

Stokes Township fiscal officer (one seat): Ramona Porter

Stokes Township trustee (one seat): Christopher S. Vallery

Union Township fiscal officer (one seat): Rachel Anne Kimbler

Union Township trustee (one seat): Matt David Furbee.

Rejected petitions

The Board of Elections rejected several petitions for various errors. As a result, the following individuals who filed petitions will not be candidates in the Nov. 5 election:

  • Thomas E. Boyd who filed for the London mayor’s race;
  • Richard Steven Rice, Plain City village council;
  • Jim B. King, West Jefferson village council at-large;
  • Michael Allen English, Madison-Plains school board, unexpired term;
  • William A. Wilcox, Darby Township fiscal officer;
  • John E. Griffith, Range Township trustee.
  • Rebecca K. Burns, Pleasant Township fiscal officer; and
  • Mark A. Harden, Pleasant Township trustee.

According to Aaron To, deputy director at the Board of Elections, the following are some of the reasons petitions are rejected: insufficient valid signatures, candidate failed to properly fill out the nominating petition, candidate dated the petition after individuals signed it, and individuals circulating petitions did not sign the circulator statement.

Write-in deadline

Individuals who wish to run in the election as write-in candidates must file their declarations of intent with the Board of Elections by 4 p.m. Aug. 26. Write-in candidates’ names do not appear on the ballot. The filing deadline for candidates whose names will appear on the Nov. 5 election ballot was Aug. 7.

Individuals whose petitions were rejected for the Aug. 7 deadline are not permitted to run as write-in candidates in the Nov. 5 election.

Previous articleAlder board mulls rental policy for new synthetic turf field
Next articleTax issues set for fall ballot


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.