Candidates are ready to run

Political involvement is alive and well in the Southeast area as a full slate of candidates are set to run for local political office.

According to the Franklin County and Fairfield County boards of elections the following citizens have filed to appear on the Nov. 6 ballot:

Canal Winchester

•Canal Winchester Mayor Jeffery Miller will run unopposed as the Franklin County Board of Elections disqualified expected challenger Canal Winchester Village Councilman Steve Donahue because Donahue did not properly complete his petition paperwork.

•Seven candidates are running for three seats on village council, but that list does not include incumbents Peggy Eisnaugle, who is not seeking re-election, and Donahue, who had been planning to run for mayor. Those running for council include incumbent Bruce Jarvis, James Baltzer, Jeffrey Bond, Stacey Boumis, Rick Deeds, Marilyn Rush-Ekelberry, and Melanie White.

•The race for two seats on the Canal Winchester school board includes incumbents David Brobst and John Kantner as well as challengers Amy Hockman, Susan Martin, and Tom Reed.

Groveport and Madison Township

•Former Groveport village councilman Dan Knode will challenge incumbent Lance Westcamp for mayor in Groveport.

•Council members Jean Ann Hilbert and Jan Stoots are among six candidates seeking to fill two seats on council. Also running are Shawn Cleary, John Hone, Mary Mashburn, and Mark Pettay.

•Long time Groveport Madison school board member June Gibbs will not seek re-election. Four candidates will run for two seats on the board including incumbent Teresa Burch, Duane Dailey, Nathan Slonaker, and Mary Tedrow. Dailey, who was appointed to fill Patti Froehlich’s seat this summer after she resigned, has decided to run for a four year term rather than to run to maintain his place in Froehlich’s former seat. However, Steven Slyh has filed to run for Froehlich’s former seat in order to fulfill her unexpired term, which runs to Dec. 31, 2009.

•In Madison Township, incumbent Susan Brobst will face three challengers to her seat including Edward Dildine (not the Groveport village councilman), Charles Johnson, and Thomas Rinehart.

Pickerington and Violet Township

•Pickerington Mayor David Shaver has decided not to seek re-election leaving a wide open race between City Councilwoman Heidi Riggs and former city councilman Mitch O’Brien.

•The three seats up for grabs on Pickerington City Council have generated a large field of candidates including incumbents Ted Hackworth and Brian Wisniewski. Also running for council are Tony Barletta, Robert Blair, Tricia Sanders, Brian Sauer, and Terry Walburn.

•The Pickerington school board race has drawn seven candidates vying for two seats. Those running include incumbents Dr. James Brink and Lisa Reade as well as Daunita Booker, Rob Farmer, Duane Gosa, former Pickerington mayor Lee Gray, and Ayn Williams.

•Violet Township trustee Gary Weltlich is running unopposed for his seat.


•Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman will be challenged by Bill Todd in this year’s mayor’s race.

•Those running for four seats on city council are Bill Brownson, Paul Bingle, Hearcel Craig, Andrew Ginther, Michael Mentel, Jim O’Grady, Charleta Tavares, and Larry Thomas. Joshua Williams is a write-in candidate. Heidi Samuel and Priscilla Tyson are running for the seat with an unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2009.

•The Columbus school board race has eight candidates after four seats including Gary Baker, Terry Boyd, Bill Buckel, Jeff Cabot, W. Shawna Gibbs, Stephanie Groce, Jarrod Weiss, and Mike Wiles. Michael King and Carol Perkins are seeking to feel an unexpired term.


•Christy Smith is running unopposed for village council. The Franklin County Board of Election found that Mayor Benjamin Runyon did not properly complete his petition paperwork so he will have to run as a write-in candidate.


•Louise Crabtree and Gary Pulley will go up against incumbent Rod Davisson for the Obetz’ mayoral seat.

•Three are running for two seats on village council including Patricia Altevogt, Greg Scott, and James Wiley.

Truro Township

•Nancy Schroyer and Natalie West will face off for township clerk.

•Trustee Pat Mahaffey is running unopposed.


•Canal Winchester Local Schools: 7.9 mill operating levy.

•Pickerington Local Schools: 5 mill operating levy.

•Village of Brice: proposed income tax increase from one to two percent.

Future coverage of the election

The Southeast Messenger will publish  voters’ guides of the candidates as well as stories on the candidates and issues in future editions of the paper prior to the November election.

Previous articleWhats happening on the Westside
Next articleBand sails with pirate-themed show


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.