83 candidates certified for Nov. 3 ballot


(Posted Aug. 24, 2015)

By Kristy Zurbrick, Madison Editor

The fall election will be a busy one for Madison County.

The Madison County Board of Elections met Aug. 17 and certified 83 candidates for the Nov. 3 ballot.

Additional candidates could be added to the tally as West Jefferson council looks to fill a recently vacated seat in Ward 3. The elections board granted an extended deadline of Sept. 3 for anyone wishing to run for the unexpired term.

Also, most races on the November ballot are open to write-in candidates. The deadline to file paperwork to run as a write-in is Aug. 24.

The deadline to register to vote in the Nov. 3 election is Oct. 5. For more information, go to electionsonthe.net/oh/madison/# or call the elections board at (740) 852-9424. Hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Township candidates

For each of Madison County’s 14 townships, one seat for fiscal officer and one seat for trustee are up for election. The exceptions are Range and Stokes townships, which also have seats up for election for unexpired terms.

Canaan Township

– Fiscal officer—Kimberlie A. Schrock

– Trustee—Don J. Schrock

Darby Township

– Fiscal officer—M. Elaine Wilcox

– Trustee—Roger D. Weeks

Deercreek Township

– Fiscal officer—Erin K. Morris

– Trustee—Mark Modlich

Fairfield Township

– Fiscal officer—Vickie S. Timmons

– Trustee—Donald Wayne Francis

Jefferson Township

– Fiscal officer—Darci L. Carmody, Amy L. Forrest, Kathryn M. Looby, Priscilla A. Neighborgall, W. Scott Popplewell, Arnette A. Simpson

– Trustee—Jeffrey N. Pfeil

Monroe Township

– Fiscal officer—Connie S. Troyer

– Trustee—no candidates

Note: One individual, David E. Gallimore, filed a petition for the trustee seat, but the elections board rejected his petition for being incomplete.

Oak Run Township

– Fiscal officer—Rochelle R. Kimbler

– Trustee—Wayne C. Holland

Paint Township

– Fiscal officer—Cynthia L. Mace

– Trustee—Bruce A. Davison

Pike Township

– Fiscal officer—Lila L. Stewart

– Trustee—Aaron L. Boerger

Pleasant Township

– Fiscal officer—Katheryn L. Endres

– Trustee—Lewis Conway

Range Township

– Fiscal officer—Luana J. Barker

– Trustee (full term)—Mark A. Anthony

– Trustee (unexpired term)—Dennis K. Marshall

Somerford Township

– Fiscal officer—Pamela C. Hochadel

– Trustee—Jim Moran

Stokes Township

– Fiscal officer—Ramona Porter

– Trustee (full term)—Christopher Vallery

– Trustee (unexpired term)—Jim Noble

Union Township

– Fiscal officer—Karen S. Geyer

– Trustee—Matthew D. Furbee, Brian M. Lanigan

School board candidates

  • Jefferson Local School District (three seats up for election)—David Willis Harper, Margaret Hiss. Note: Three other individuals filed petitions to run for this race, however their petitions were rejected by the elections board for being incomplete. Those individuals are Michael K. Branham, Michael E. Quinn and Edward Shepherd.
  • Jonathan Alder Local School District (three to be elected)—Steve E. Votaw, Jason Warren, Thomas D. Bichsel, Christina S. Blacka
  • London City Schools, full terms (two to be elected)—Curtis O. Brooks, Paul E. Maynor, Jonathan M. Stahl
  • London City Schools, unexpired term (one to be elected)—Darryl D. Brown, Matthew J. Congleton
  • Madison-Plains Local Schools (two to be elected)—Robert Lee Butz, Mark W. Mason, Ken Morlock

Village of Midway candidates

  • Clerk/treasurer (one to be elected)—Jennifer L. Hall
  • Council member (two to be elected)—Renee L. Hall, Tina P. Kelley

Village of Mount Sterling candidates

  • Mayor (one to be elected)—Charles W. Neff
  • Council member (two to be elected)—Lowell G. Anderson, David L. Timmons, Thomas Carl Ward

Village of Plain City candidates

  • Mayor (one to be elected)—James W. Eudaily, Michael Lane, Darren A. Lee
  • Council member (two to be elected)—Kerri L. Ferguson, John A. Rucker

Village of South Solon candidates

  • Mayor (one to be elected)—Joseph L. Haney, David Karkan
  • Council member (two seats up for election)—Jeffrey L. Glispie

Village of West Jefferson candidates

  • Mayor (one to be elected)—Steve J. Johnston, Ray A. Martin
  • Council member at-large (three to be elected)—Michael W. Conway, Douglas R. Eakins, Jim King, Richard A. King, Herman E. Stanley

City of London candidates

  • Auditor (one to be elected)—Kathleen Hensel
  • Law director (one to be elected)—Zahid H. Siddiqi
  • Mayor (one to be elected)—Patrick J. Closser
  • Council president (one to be elected)—Jennifer Hitt
  • Council-at-large (three to be elected)—Megan M. Douglas, Roger T. Morris, Joshua E. Peters, Brenda S. Russell
  • Council Ward 1 (one to be elected)—Trint R. Hatt
  • Council Ward 2 (one to be elected)—Richard D. Minner
  • Council Ward 3 (one to be elected)—Lora A. Long

Note: David J. Jackson filed paperwork to be recognized as a write-in candidate for the Ward 3 seat, but the elections board did not certify his candidacy because he did not meet the one-year residency requirement.

  • Council Ward 4 (one to be elected)—Rex Castle
Previous articleExpo: Fun way for all ages to learn about safety
Next article18 issues certified for Nov. 3 ballot


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.